Women Scholarships

Eira Francis Davies Scholarship at Swansea University

Swansea University is a public research university located in Swansea, Wales. It was established in 1920 as University College of Swansea and became an independent university in 2007. The university has two campuses – Singleton Park Campus and Bay Campus.

The university offers undergraduate and postgraduate degrees across a wide range of disciplines including arts, humanities, sciences, engineering, law, medicine, and management. It is known for its excellence in research and has a strong reputation in fields such as engineering, computer science, and medical sciences.

Swansea University is home to over 20,000 students, including around 3,500 international students from more than 130 countries. The university has a diverse and inclusive community, and its campus facilities include modern lecture theaters, research labs, libraries, and sports facilities.

Swansea University is committed to providing students with a supportive and engaging learning environment, and it has been recognized with numerous awards for teaching and student satisfaction. It has also been ranked among the top universities in the UK for graduate employability, and its graduates are highly sought after by employers in a range of sectors.

Scholarship Description:

  • Host University: Swansea University;
  • Host Country: United Kingdom;
  • Study Level: Masters Degree;
  • Scholarship Type: The scholarship covers the full tuition;
  • Eligible Countries: Women from developing countries as listed by the World Bank;
  • Subjects Available: All Subjects;
  • Number of Awards: 1;
  • Application Deadline: 28 May 2023 (annual).

The Eira Francis Davies Scholarship is available to female students from developing countries who wish to study a full-time postgraduate taught master’s programme in the fields of medicine, health, or life sciences at Swansea University. The scholarship covers the full cost of tuition fees and also provides a stipend of £20,000 to cover living expenses. The scholarship is awarded annually to one outstanding female student.


Prospective candidates are required to:

• Possess a Bachelor’s degree or equivalent certification, with a minimum grade of 2:1.

• Have accepted a formal offer to pursue a full-time postgraduate taught Master’s program at Swansea University’s College of Human and Health Sciences, commencing in September 2023. (Please refer to the list above for eligible programs).

• Be a female.

• Be a fresh student enrolling in Swansea University in September 2023.

• Demonstrate strong academic credentials, financial need, and a desire to study their chosen course at Swansea University in their application.


• Be a national and permanent resident of one of the EFD Eligible Countries 2023, as classified by the World Bank Country and Lending Groups as “low income” or “lower-middle income” as of July 1, 2021.

• Not receive any other financial assistance from Swansea University, such as tuition fee reductions, scholarships, or bursaries.

• Not be a current student at The College, Swansea University, making progress toward their degree.

How to apply:

To apply for the scholarship, please follow these instructions:

  1. Ensure that you have accepted an offer to study an eligible program for the September 2023 entry.
  2. Complete and submit the online application form before 11:59pm (BST) on 28 May 2023.
  3. Visit the official website (the link is provided below) for comprehensive information on how to apply for this scholarship and access the application form.

Please note that failure to adhere to these instructions may lead to disqualification from the scholarship.

Official website:

For more details, please visit the official website: https://www.swansea.ac.uk/humanandhealthsciences/eira-francis-davies-scholarship/

Related Articles

Back to top button